Banking Institutions
The Cambodian banking sector is a two-tier system comprising the public sector (represented by the NBC), and the private sector such as commercial banks, specialized banks, microfinance institutions, and a number of NGOs involved in rural credit activities.

Under the Law on Banking and Financial Institutions, all banks shall be licensed and supervised by the NBC. In the past, a large number of banks had been inactivated due to poor management making people distrust the banking system. To solve this situation, the NBC implemented the Law on Banking and Financial Institutions and conducted a bank re-licensing program. Through this change, the Cambodian financial system has developed and stabilized.

As of December 2014, there are 36 commercial banks, 11 specialized banks, 40 microfinance institutions, 38 registered credit operators and 6 leasing companies in operation.

Among the banks, commercial banks are the most important payment service providers since they have the legal and institutional advantage in receiving deposits from the public. Bank deposits provide the basis for non-cash payment transactions such as credit remittance, direct debit, card payment. Also, commercial banks install and manage payment infrastructure like ATMs and POS terminals.